January/February catch up! Working and exploring

Hello, hello. I haven’t posted in a while as I have been getting to grips with full-time work and generally trying to pack in as much as I can into my days that never seem to be long enough.

So lets do a quick catch up of all the things I’ve been up to in the past two months…

Working week- average day:

I’ll get the boring bit out the way first and then onto the adventures…

  • Up at 6:30am, get ready for work and get into work around 7:30am.
  • Read for an hour before I start my shift.

This has been great! As I haven’t been able to read for pleasure in a long while. I made a list of the top plays ever written and I’m making my way through the ones I haven’t read yet. I’ve so far managed to get through A Street Car Named Desire by Tennessee Williams (don’t judge me, I never studied it in school), and I’ve also made a very large dent in The Summer Queen by Elizabeth Chadwick- not a play, but a very interesting doorstop of a book about the life of Eleanor of Aquitaine.

  • Work my shift, punctuated by cigarette breaks and ‘trying-to-be-healthy’ food.
  • Walk home, tidy up, make dinner. 

(Will I ever learn to cook, I ask myself every evening as I put another oven-only dinner on the tray)

  • Go out for a long walk.

I’ve been walking a lot recently, not only because I walk home from work every day, but because I’ve set myself a ‘100 day challenge’ to walk as much as I can in that time and try and shift some of the dominos-pizza-and-alcohol weight from uni, and I’m actually really enjoying it.

  • Catch up on the series I’m the most invested in at the time, and time for bed.

In truth, working this much hasn’t given me very much free time or leisure time to pursue writing, but whenever I get a free day it’s the first thing I want to do.

The Adventures from January and February:

I’ll put up more detailed posts soon, but here they are in a nutshell…

– I went to Stratford-upon-Avon to see my first ever RSC production, a performance of The Tempest

-Celebrated my three year anniversary with my boyfriend, who bought me an Alexander McQueen card holder and a trip to Venice for my birthday  *internally squeals*

-Graduated with a first class masters degree, and got to hug Jeremy Irons as he congratulated me on my writing

-Celebrated graduating by singing karaoke and partying with my best friends around me

-Went to the Jorvik Viking festival and attended the Viking Feast, which was the climax of the festival and explored the city of York, Including York Minster- which has to be seen to be believed, it is a decorated giant. Here’s a look at just one of the many stained glass windows:

york minster, stain glass windows.png

That’s about it for this catch up, the past few months have raced by. I’ve been working a lot but I’ve also been lucky enough to get out and have a few adventures and see new places and experience new things. All of which are valuable to the mind of a writer.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

