Barrington Court- a perfect, peaceful day

Last weekend I had the most magical trip to Barrington Court. I had been wanting to visit this National trust property for some time, but never got around to doing it.

I was a bit irked as I had to work Saturday, which cuts my weekend time (and supposed writing time) in half, but luckily Sunday was a glorious Spring day. It was as if Spring had sprung over night, bringing with it blossoming flowers, lush countryside and busy little animals.

The road to get to Barrington Court is like something out of Jurassic Park, cutting down deep into the ground with huge rock faces jutting out either side of the winding lane, vines holding them up in their grasp.

I knew as soon as we pulled up into the car park that this was my new favourite property. The tranquility rushed over me, something I desperately crave at the moment, and then the excitement of exploring this beautiful location. It felt like I had been teleported through Jurassic park and had ended up in the south of France.

17548991_10154799839149300_1746065640_o

The old stables

I could have spent an age soaking up the sunshine, exploring the gardens and the property.

17571402_10154799839179300_952870813_o

This isn’t even the house…this is the cafe

 

The staff were wonderful and took some time out to have a chat about the architecture, the renovation of the house and answer my questions about the gardens and land.

17572036_10154799839224300_1441247214_o

Inside the house: Classic Tudor style, but with stars on the ceiling

One of the nicest things about the day was that they had provided lawn games for the visitors. Skittles, Ring-toss, skipping ropes etc, which created a really lovely family atmosphere and people felt comfortable to sit out on the lawn on a blanket with a picnic and really take the time to enjoy their surroundings. It felt like an endless summer day and my soul definitely benefitted from seeing beautiful things, man-made or natural, in the peace of the landscape.

17548820_10154799839634300_1347702307_o

Families play lawn games against the backdrop of Barrington Court

 

 

Leave a Reply

