What’s the best path to take? Theatre Vs. Film – help!

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to air my thoughts and thought processes at the moment as I need to get it off my chest.

The two mediums I enjoy writing for are theatre and film, my background is primarily in theatre and have only written one film, but I am very confident in the film script I have. I have written a few plays but none of them are polished as of yet and for some reason I can’t bring myself to edit and redraft them.

I’m struggling at the moment to resolved the Theatre Vs. Film debate. Which path do I go down? Do I have to choose at all? Can I do both? Which one do I prioritise?

Do I look for an agent for my film script or do I try my luck entering competitions with the film script? Equally, do I focus on editing and redrafting my plays and sending those off for competitions/to agents?

I think the thing I’m worried about is that if I pick one path to go down it will cut me off from the other one. I think deep down I prefer theatre and know more about theatre, but the script isn’t where I want it to be. Film is exciting and new, and I know the script is good. But where do I go from here?

If any of you guys can offer any advice please do!

India x

2 thoughts on “What’s the best path to take? Theatre Vs. Film – help!

  1. A.P. says:

    I’m replying because I’ve often wondered if a play or musical I’ve written would make a better movie. Then I wonder if I ought to have just written a screenplay to begin with, because the play itself, though finished, will often remain unproduced. It’s an interesting conflict, because far more people go to see a movie than to see a play. So it always crosses my mind that, if my criteria for success necessarily involves production of the piece, and not just the success of having finished it, then probably playwriting might not have been the most practical choice in the first place.

    That said, I just finished a working draft of a new musical, and at this time, t’s more important for me to seek its production than transform it into a screenplay. I don’t think you need restrict yourself to one or the other. Much of the sentiment you express is related to your youth – the season of your life. In one of your other posts you commented that the period of uncertain change you face at 25 reminds you of a second puberty.

    I was stricken by your sometimes feeling like you are “half woman, half child.” It struck a chord with me, because I still feel like a child sometimes, even after all these years. I would just content yourself to recognize that you are a woman – a young woman who seems very motivated, probably a very pleasant person, and who is going through changes that parallel those of many in their twenties.

    So – these are my thoughts. I hope they helped.

    Take good care –

    Andy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. indiarodgers says:

    Hi Andy,

    Thank you for commenting! It’s good to know that this feeling of feeling like a child in an adult world is known to you and to many others I’m sure.

    It certainly is a time where everything centres around change, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Change means growth, as well as letting go of the past 🙂

    Your thoughts and kind words helped a lot and are always welcome. Thank you for reading!

    India x

    Like

Leave a Reply

