June is the perfect time to reflect on your yearly writing goals!

Hi Everyone,

It’s half way through 2017 already! How did that happen?! When time is flying like it seems to be, its often hard to make time for your goals and maintain focus, so I thought I would do a little regroup on my writing goals for 2017 and what I’ve achieved so far to keep me in check.

  1. Read more

In a previous post I talked about the top 30 plays ever written and how I wanted to make it my mission to read them. I’m doing pretty well so far, averaging about one play a month this year, which isn’t great, but it means that I’m steadily working my way through my list. I’ve gotten through 6 plays and 1 book, 5 of those plays are on the list of the top 30.

 

June books read list

So far I’ve read:

Antigone – Sophocles

The Family Reunion – T. S. Eliot

Waiting for Godot – Samuel Beckett

Death of a Salesman – Arthur Miller

The Glass Menagerie – Tennessee Williams

A Street Car Named Desire – Tennessee Williams

The Summer Queen – Elizabeth Chadwick

 

I’m mainly reading in the hour or so before I start work, I’ve found going in a bit earlier means that I’m up for the day and can be productive in the hour I would usually just be asleep. It helps me get into the mind frame to be productive and its a nice way to ease me into my day.

2. Rewrite the play I wrote a year ago

I have finally read, edited and plotted my play! *Internally screams* I have been dragging my feet on this one for a long time, many hours of procrastination have taken place. I wrote this play a year ago and it was my first full length play that I ever wrote, I really liked it but something was missing and its taken me this long to figure out how to tell the story I want to tell.

Girl just wanna have funds plot display

I really struggle with structure, I know what a beginning, middle and end are, but getting the nitty gritty details in a coherent order has always been tough for me. I find it hard to see it all laid out on a computer screen so I often have to print out my scripts every time I adjust it to get to grips with how it works as a whole. I have now discovered that using flash cards for the plot helps me so much! Definitely using this on all my future writing projects!

I also managed to write the first half of this play, just the second half to negotiate and then I can edit, edit, edit! I am so excited to finally see the end of the tunnel with this project.

3. Enter writing competitions

I had a rough idea in my head that I would like to enter 15 writing competitions this year, and so far I have entered 7. I’ve tried to put my film script out there a bit, but also I’ve entered a poem into a local literary competition, a short film competition for a script I wrote specifically for the competition and a few other bits and pieces.

I want to finish writing my play so that I can enter that into competitions.

4. Write a new play (rewriting an old one doesn’t count)

I’ve managed to jot a few new ideas down to look at over the next few months, which is a good start and I’m happy to see some creative inspiration creeping back into my writing.

 

That’s everything that I’ve managed to get done in the past six months and I’m looking forward to the next six months, hopefully I will maintain focus and carry on working towards my goals.

What are your goals for the next six months of the year/what have you gotten up to so far?

India x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

