Today’s reading set up: Long Day’s Journey into Night

blog post LDJIN

Hi everyone,

Oh what a glorious weekend we are having! The sun is shining and I can hear the people on my street enjoying family BBQ’s, gardening and laughing. The sun certainly brings out the best in people and its hard not to be inspired to read when its this lovely!

I’m still steadily working through my Top 30 plays list and on today’s agenda is Long Day’s Journey into Night by Eugene O’Neill. I have to say one of the most remarkable things I have noticed with this play is O’Neill’s writing style, there are so many stage directions, the likes of which would be thrown out by a theatre director today if they caught a glimpse of a play written in this way.

I may have completely by accident left this play outside all night after yesterday’s reading session, it has clearly taken on some of the damp and dried out again, leaving it a tad crispy. Only have myself to blame!

LDJIN BLAHG

Don’t forget to put your sun cream on! (I’m the kind of person who got sunstroke from sitting in the shade on my last holiday).

What are you reading at the moment? How’s your weekend been?

India x

3 thoughts on “Today’s reading set up: Long Day’s Journey into Night

  1. A.P. says:

    Well – I might be the first one to have read this, so here goes. I am reading *The War of Art* by Steven Pressfield. My weekend’s been great so far. It’s Father’s Day today. I busked at the Farmer’s Market yesterday and wrote a new poem during Writer’s Guild. Thank you for this post and have a good rest of the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A.P. says:

    I’m a pianist. I’ve done a lot of accompanying for musical theatre and have played in a restaurant and a few piano bars. My landlord’s son is an award-winning classical pianist, so my landlord is letting me use his electronic piano to busk. I have to fill out an application and get it notarized, so as to get a regular slot at the Farmer’s Market. They charge $7 but you can easily make $50 or more in tips. People tipped generously yesterday. It’s a pretty good gig.

    Like

Leave a Reply

